• Becky K.
    5 star rating

    Parking was a bit touchy after that Hostess sat us right away. Blake came straight away to get us drinks and Gabby followed up to take order. Cornbeef hash is fabulous and prime rib dip was so satisfying. Gabby dropped tab Gabe followed with table side machine. Food great service exceptional

    4/11/2021
  • Kristine W.
    5 star rating

    Loving this spot for breakfast and brunch. You get a huge variety of food from eggs, pancakes, sandwiches, and even burritos. They have got a huge are for outdoor seating and can accommodate large parties. My favorite item was their sausage egg skillet. They give you a HUGE portion of eggs on top of cheesy potatoes loaded with sausage. It is extremely hearty and will leave you feeling super full. I also really enjoyed their prime rib sandwich especially with their aujus and horseradish dipping sauce. Don't forget to add on their crispy onion rings dipped in glorious ranch. I definitely need to come back and try their sweet options. They are now making their own Bloody Mary mix and selling cute blue mugs that hold over the typical amount of coffee (:

    4/09/2021
  • Jessica V.
    5 star rating

    YUM! We had a code for free chocolate chip pancakes and we got a huge stack of delicious pancakes!! I wish they gave better syrup than the smuckers stuff, but oh well. The breakfast burrito and eggs and bacon were all delicious too. Good coffee even! We took it to go and we're given sauces and utensils galore, which was so helpful! We will be back!!

    4/05/2021
  • Briana B.
    5 star rating

    Amazing chocolate chip pancakes!!!! Like seriously so so good. I'm normally the person that thinks all pancakes are basically the same but went here with an OTM special for the chocolate chip pancakes and wow I was so impressed! Also had eggs and coffee but the chocolate chip pancakes were the star of the show. Will be coming back because I crave them now. The staff was super nice as well. Highly recommend

    4/05/2021
  • Brandon M.
    5 star rating

    Just walking in you get an on the pier type of feel. Ya know dark furniture and wood accents but the ceiling is updated and they have recess lighting that keeps the place well lit even the fans have the correct aesthetic feel. You'll notice the walls with the awesome painted with shore sights and under the water activity. Perfect for those who love the beach and kids who love animals. Immediately greeted, seated and asked if drinks are needed. I asked Lindsey our waitress were the pancakes as good as advertised she said absolutely and they are huge so I had no choice but to order it with an shrimp and crab omelette. Not that much time passed before the food came, probably because I was starting at the wall looking at the various sea animals but I was able to also see they have a automatic hand sanitizer at your table. You don't need to touch just put your hand there and the sanitizer comes out! Only place in the world I've been that has that so awesome. Food came hot not like warm not just right like there was no time wasted on getting it to us super appreciated that. I thought the pancake would be bigger but I was satisfied, I can definitely say they have a good batter, some don't do anything but the batter for the pancakes make them actually good. Next time I'm ordering two. Now the omelette was plate size and I will be the first to say I wanted to give this a standing ovation. They aren't stingy with the shrimp and crab it brings a tear to my eye just thinking about how they actually use crab meet and not imitation crab. Best crab and shrimp omelette I've ever had it's like the ones you make at home when you're not caring about serving sizes and your just adding and adding. Just add some salt and pepper on it and boom perfection ! Kinda sorta sad I don't live closer otherwise I could eat that at least three to four times a week.

    3/29/2021
  • Fausto G.
    5 star rating

    Omg I'm totally coming back and brining everyone I know. Food was so good, I got the cinnamon french toast combo and I literally was about to order a second one to go lol! Christy was our server and she was amazing! We got bottomless mimosas and they keep refilling every few minutes- so attentive! Thank you!

    3/28/2021
  • Pilar M.
    5 star rating

    I can't say enough good things about this place. I drove from Los Angeles, again, just to have breakfast at Cappy's.It's works like a well oiled machine. Service, food and customer service.If they ever open a second place in Los Angeles, they'll have me there every day.

    3/28/2021
  • Sehry J.
    5 star rating

    Very friendly waiter, wish I remembered the kid's name. Food was on point, very flavorful and quick service.

    3/23/2021
  • Linda S.
    5 star rating

    Such a cute little place with the loveliest service!I came here around 9:30am and was immediately seated by the most attentive host. This man really never let our coffee mugs empty! I had the Monte Cristo Sandwich. Do yourself a favor and get it. It's the perfect combination of sweet and salty fried goodness! Really felt like biting into some good ol homemade chow. I'll definitely be coming here again!

    3/23/2021
  • Michelle T.
    5 star rating

    This place is truly a gem! Tried them out 2 years ago while looking for a place to eat breakfast!Boy are we glad to have found this place!Food is delicious,Portions are large! Coffee is tasty!

    3/13/2021
  • Jordan S.
    5 star rating

    The cinnamon roll breakfast is UNREAL GOOD! I came here awhile back and sat outside and was so impressed. Definitely a Newport bucket list place to go!

    3/13/2021
  • Tim S.
    5 star rating

    Had brunch here last weekend.It's a great spot for sure!I personally like their omelettes, country potatoes and their bread choices are awesome with lots of butter!!!Great location and close to beach, shopping, etc if you're driving through.Pro Tip: Make a Yelp Reservation!

    3/11/2021
  • Timothy D.
    5 star rating

    If you live in Newport Beach or Huntington Beach and you have not been to Cappy's u missed out . I recommend there Version of a Monte Crisco sandwich and Bottomless Mimosa is world class Enjoy

    2/21/2021
  • Ashley G.
    5 star rating

    Best breakfast! Great food, friendly staff, outdoor seating and following Covid guidelines.

    2/21/2021
  • Monique S.
    5 star rating

    Excellent customer service. Called about wait, the hostess recommended to place name on Yelp wait list a d they would sit us right away. We had family member in a wheelchair with dementia. They were very accommodating a d understanding . This was during a busy Saturday morning. Great work and food is always the best.

    2/20/2021
  • Shelley B.
    5 star rating

    Best place for breakfast. Lots of seating outside. Very COVID safe. We ride our bikes down there every weekend.

    2/10/2021
  • Keith B.
    5 star rating

    Where do I start, the food was outstanding. Homemade corned beef hash , and the chicken fried steak was awesome. You could cut it with a fork, MO connective tissue nothing. One of the top 10 breakfast that I've ever had.

    2/06/2021
  • Angie I.
    5 star rating

    Comforting and Casual...what more can you ask for? Breakfast was delicious! Seating outside was nice however the morning was a bit chilly and wish they had more heaters around as I only saw one! The food is delicious, no pretentious skimpy plates...comfort food, good old breakfast food. Our table ordered the California Omelette, Fajita Omelette, Veggie Omelette, Kids Pancake Plate, French Toast and Biscuits and Gray. Everything was delicious, I got the California Omelette + hash browns + biscuits and gravy and coffee ...I can't wait to go back and try the country potatoes and the cinnamon french toast everyone posts about. They have bottomless mimosas for $18(?) at specific times...can't recall what the times were but it wasn't available when we went for breakfast which was a bummer. Overall, the service is great (the food took a while but worth it) and the food is delicious. Will we be back...um...yes! After breakfast you can take a stroll to the beach which is literally across the street.

    1/30/2021
  • Jordan T.
    5 star rating

    Delicious breakfast! Clean family restaurant with professional staff. Parking is a breeze will be back tomorrow!

    1/29/2021
  • Chris B.
    5 star rating

    Cappys is a great family and friendly restaurant. They have the best breakfast in town. My wife and daughter go there every Sunday. It's great to keep the small family business is running during this pandemic.

    1/24/2021
  • Marquis L.
    5 star rating

    The service and food were awesome and delicious the manager was great he was very hands on and involved with the customers and his staff followed suit. During the pandemic (COVID-19), it was really difficult to find this level of commitment, passion, and compassion; not at Cappy's Cafe. We will be back.. Sincerely, Mark & Adrienne..- Newport/Balboa Beach connoisseurs..

    1/23/2021
  • Susan S.
    5 star rating

    Delicious. Clean, welcoming, distancing. A definite "must try" and then you'll automatically return.

    1/20/2021
  • Pilar M.
    5 star rating

    This is the best run breakfast and lunch place in Orange County.The food is delicious but the way they handle the crowd is magnificent. Every waiter and waitress has the best attitude in any restaurant.It doesn't matter how crowded it is, the service doesn't change, superb.If I lived in Orange County, I would go there every day. Thank you for being an example of good food, good service and best way to handle the COVID situation.

    1/18/2021
  • Taylor R.
    5 star rating

    I had such a great experience here. I'm happy to see a restaurant still thriving (screw newsom) everyone was so nice, helpful, and seemed so happy to be there. It was a wonderful vibe it seemed like everyone worked as a team and it was very refreshing, the bloody Mary's...... OMG! Unreal, absolutely amazing. So was the corn beef hash. I truly enjoyed my time here and am grateful and appreciative of the staff. I'll definitely be back!

    1/18/2021
  • Kimberly M.
    5 star rating

    Blake & Amanda! AMAZING! Had never been here before but glad we came! They made the experience great! You guys were really busy today but did such an amazing job!

    1/17/2021
  • J B.
    5 star rating

    I had never been here but I'm so happy I came! We came for Sunday brunch and it was amazing. Everyone here is so kind. BLAKE IS AWESOME!!!! If you are the owner of the establishment looking at this, please be aware you are so blessed to have someone like Blake. He is a fresh face in these dark times. Thank you Blake!!! Amanda was equally as awesome! Thank you Cappy's!

    1/17/2021
  • Christy M.
    5 star rating

    I've been here twice and I absolutely recommend the food here, great service. Both times Blake made sure we felt at home he was very attentive . Great spot to come with friends or a brunch date 🙂

    1/16/2021
  • Fran L.
    5 star rating

    We were at Tesla repair center in Costa Mesa today and were looking for a decent breakfast diner where we can dine in outside due to Covid19 pandemic restrictions. We found several but this restaurant had most reviews and had over four and half Yelp stars. I really trust Yelp and the high numbers of positive reviews convinced us to drive six miles to see if we can get seated. We arrived at 9 o'clock on Tuesday and there were only two cars on the parking lot. The lot was quite small and more parking space was available in the back. Immediately we went to the main restaurant and were directed to the back of the restaurant under a large tent and two gas heater with quiet fan blowing the warm air to our table. The server was immensely fast and brought a cup of hot water and ice water upon asking. The menus were clean and well designed. The Bloody Mary was priced just right and tasted perfectly. The breakfast combo with Chicken Fried Steak and one pancake was too much for two of us. You can see the quantity and absolutely delicious quality of their breakfast. The hash browns were absolutely gorgeous and fried to perfection. The eggs were perfect and the pancake was bigger than the large plate. The golden syrup was thick and sweet and butter was soft. Only thing is their biscuits were little dry. The immense amount of delicious gravy with pieces of bacon was also delicious. I give five stars for the service, cleanliness, pricing and taste. This restaurant is top of my list to go to for the best breakfast in Newport Beach.

    1/12/2021
  • Lili G.
    5 star rating

    Not only was the food delicious but the staff was so friendly, it's nice to see people work as a team and help each other out. I'm sad I didn't find this gem sooner. Very happy with food and service.

    1/10/2021
  • Ben D.
    5 star rating

    Let me first start off that Matt and Lindsey are the best hosts and waiters I have ever met. This place is great for an nice afternoon by the beach. The food is excellent. I had the Vegetarian skillet. The cheese was perfectly melted and the broccoli was evenly cooked. I almost finished the whole thing! The bottomless mimosas are what really drew my friend and I over. For 18 dollars you can't go wrong with this option. I will always come back to Cappys. Honestly might even get a tattoo of it next door

    1/04/2021
  • Alyssa T.
    5 star rating

    This is THE best spot! The bottomless mimosas and the huge selection really made my trip to Newport Beach worthwhile. Our waiter, Matt took great care of us. He was the friendliest server I've had in a long time time. The whole staff was wonderful! I will definitely come back!!

    1/04/2021
  • William H.
    5 star rating

    I've been to Cappy's Cafe 4 times so far in the past 4 months roughly I was introduced to it by my girlfriend. Every time we have gone the service has been incredible as well as the food even during these rough times. They have an amazing bottomless mimosa special that is absolutely amazing that we enjoy before we head to the beach. Blake was kind enough to help us the past two times we were dining here and the service was impeccable as well as his friendly and joking personality we will definitely be coming back and most likely will become regulars to this great establishment. Thank you for the great food and service William and Haeley.

    1/03/2021
  • Jessica K.
    5 star rating

    *COVID REVIEW*I came here to grab breakfast with my boss before work and since I've never been to Cappy's before, he told us I must try it. It's a cute little spot with hand painted murals of ocean scenes and dogs with a huge outdoor dining area around the back with lots of tables and open space. We decided to eat inside since it was chilly out and each booth had a tall barrier between them so I really appreciated that.We both ordered the fajita omelet with beef and it was soooo huge and yummy! The beef was really tender and there was so much veggies and cheese. I loved how all the condiments were single servings and each piece of toast had a good slather of butter on them too. I only finished half and took the rest home for dinner. I would definitely come back again for a nice, hearty breakfast. The oceanfront vibes and attentive staff are just a plus!

    12/09/2020
  • Todd E.
    5 star rating

    Solid good, super dog friendly, and great and attentive waiting staff.

    12/09/2020
  • Dean C.
    5 star rating

    Great food, friendly service at a decent price and a full bar with excellent bloody Mary's and bottomless mimosas.

    11/29/2020
  • Vicki V.
    5 star rating

    The food was excellent and the tables are appropriately placed so that felt safe. Great service.

    11/21/2020
  • Deborah E.
    5 star rating

    This was my second time here; first during Covid. The one thing I don't like is getting out of the parking lot. People coming around a blind corner on PCH....scary. Food is really good and the service is great! Someone is always checking on you. Good job for taking this situation and doing it right. I think the outside dining works!

    11/17/2020
  • Christie D.
    5 star rating

    Love this place! BLAKE was the best - surprised he is not a server. Gabby did an awesome job, but Blake kept up with all the requests. He provided over-the-top service and has an awesome personality and sense of humor! Fun breakfast & looking forward to the next time "hoping to get Blake as server"!!

    11/15/2020
  • Britney B.
    5 star rating

    Our food was amazing ! I had the chilaquiles, they were good for a non Mexican restaurant. BLAKE the runner definitely should be a server! He tended our table more than the actual server (gabby was sweet though) and had us laughing everytime he came by! Great outside seating . WOULD COME BACK FOR BLAKES SERVICE !

    11/15/2020
  • Carmen B.
    5 star rating

    Great food! Loved the outdoor seating for COVID. Shout out to BLAKE - awesome host/bus boy/jack of all trades who should be a server! We had him hustling and he was so attentive and polite. Thanks for such great service and your sense of humor!

    11/15/2020
  • Chloe M.
    5 star rating

    First time visiting and although it was during covid, the atmosphere was well accommodated along with the staff and service!Blake has exceptional and diligent service and really set the mood for the whole restaurant

    11/15/2020
  • Drew B.
    5 star rating

    There can only be one breakfast god. Cappy's is the chosen one. Been going here for years & it's the same experience every time. Great people, old school feel, great portions, good food.

    11/12/2020
  • Jessica M.
    5 star rating

    Such a fantastic COVID dining experience thanks to Matt. Service was prompt and friendly. Space was clean. was so nice to sip mimosas on the patio and feel semi normal again.

    11/05/2020
  • Damian Y.
    5 star rating

    We spent the week in Newport last week and on the way out stopped by Cappys. They were set up outside with a tent for social distancing purposes. There were so many great things to choose from, the staff was super friendly and accommodating. Our meals came out quick and everyone enjoyed their breakfast. The potatoes with cheese are a must have.

    10/21/2020
  • Erika A.
    5 star rating

    My family and I had a great time with excellent food, all while staying safe in outdoor, safe distancing dining! Love this place!!

    10/19/2020
  • Briana V.
    5 star rating

    Matt and Christy were the best!!! Only place that has bottomless mimosas everyday!! They BOTH need a raise 10/10

    10/12/2020
  • Dan H.
    5 star rating

    We came down to the area from Burbank to hit Roger's Garden. Then, seeking breakfast, we happened by Cappy's. We were promptly greeted and seated whereupon we encountered Blake, a gracious and enthusiastic young man with a real spark and hustle. Our server was Gabby, also very polite and professional. What a delight to escape the tyranny of LA County and finally have a meal INSIDE with delicious food, super great coffee and young, amiable kids like Gabby and Blake assisting. I highly recommend Cappy's, especially for the corn beef hash and pork chops and eggs. The place is clean and the portions very generous. We'll be back for sure! This is a great breakfast find.

    10/10/2020
  • Kimbale L.
    5 star rating

    The food is positively amazing. I got the the sausage burrito, which was hugggeeeee and flavorful. Service was a little slow, but I didn't subtract any stars because they did the best they could with everything going on. We were sitting there for about 20-30 minutes with absolutely no server in site, lol more like no eye contact keep walking, I'm busy kind of feel. Lucky, Matt saw us sitting there for a long time and stepped in to help us out with some drinks. My dad needs his coffee in the morning, just sayin'! While I can't remember our actual servers name, I do remember Matt's because he was so helpful. This place is totally worth the wait. 🙂

    10/06/2020
  • Samantha H.
    5 star rating

    Lived in HB and Newport for over 30 years and I have to say, I have been here a few hundred times. For all you visitors, dont miss this iconic spot. Its a bit cheesy looking from the outside but the food is ALWAYS great, the omelettes are to die for.You also cant go wrong with the homemade corned beef! We locals have got in good.

    10/05/2020
  • Daniel G.
    5 star rating

    First time at Cappy's Cafe this morning, and it was exceptional! Food was great, service was quick and everyone was extremely friendly. Our server, Gabby, was very attentive, and nice. We will definitely going back soon!

    10/02/2020
  • Dima K.
    5 star rating

    Best PancaKes in the world and I am not a breakfast or dessert person. But my husband took me there and this is where I take my friends and I find them taking their friends through snap chat stories. great food you can always take it to go and head to lido or even across the street and eat beach front. recommend 100% we alway go on religious holidays the entire family of maybe 15 people the bill is outstanding for a big family and our table is setup every time perfectly and served all at once and very prompt service. love it

    10/01/2020
  • Kristi W.
    5 star rating

    Love, love, love breakfast at Cappy's Cafe! The portions are great, the service is awesome and the locations is so fun!!!! Pandemic? What pandemic? Happy to drive 75 minutes and don a mask for a wonderful experience! We have been here twice and WILL be back!

    9/23/2020
  • amy c.
    5 star rating

    I have driven by this little café for years and never stopped in. Today was the day and I'm so glad that I did. Service and food was fantastic. I will definitely be going back

    9/18/2020
  • Linda L.
    5 star rating

    Wonderful service! I loved that I got to be out in the waist through Yelp. That was extremely helpful given the fact that I've driven to 4 restaurants with over an hour wait time. The food was delicious! I ordered the restaurant week prime French dip and although I had to attend to my kids and my didn't get to my food until 30 minutes later, the sandwich was delicious! I ordered cole slaw on the side and that was on point. My kids got the kid's french toast and pancakes and they loved it. They gave it a thumbs up. My older son ordered a bowl of clam chowder. I didn't realize a bowl was that big of a bowl. I told him that I'm going to have to help him out. The clam chowder was amazing! There were a ton is clams and probably no potatoes, at least I didn't see them, but that was the way I liked it anyways. Maybe it was pureed? Idk.

    9/13/2020
  • Phyllis M.
    5 star rating

    Great place for breakfast and lunch! Came here from a recommendation from a friend and can't understand how I've missed this place over the years. Great atmosphere and outdoor dining. So glad I did the Yelp waitlist with them because there a busy restaurant with great food and service! The breakfast was awesome and so tasty! Mimosa's and Bloody Mary's are amazing too! Service was awesome and the waitresses are great, fast and clean!

    9/13/2020
  • Jennifer B.
    5 star rating

    We stayed overnight in Huntington Beach and wanted to have a nice Sunday brunch before heading back to San Diego. How lucky that Yelp recommenced Cappy's! We jumped on the wait list and headed out the door. Their process for check in was easy and fast and the host was so friendly - a great start to our morning! We were seated in their overflow tent outside and it was comfortable and we were happy to be able to enjoy the fresh air and perfect Cali weather. The menu has so many options and really caters to all palates. Even the pickiest of eaters would be happy here. We chose the New York steak and eggs and the country fried steak. Both were delicious. We chose hash browns as our sides and they were perfectly crispy and so good. The gravy on the country fried steak was peppery and yummy. It was the best breakfast we've had in Cali this trip, hands down. The staff there is engaging and really friendly and the atmosphere welcoming, upbeat and easy. It seems like this is a local favorite. Definitely give it a try if you're in the area. We'll be back for sure.

    9/13/2020
  • Michael N.
    5 star rating

    We were just passing though and found this gem. It's a locals spot for Sunday bottomless mimosas and so we thought we'd give it a try. We ordered the NY steak and eggs and the country fried steak. Both were absolutely fantastic. We were in the overflow tent in the parking lot. You get a sense of the community eating here on a Sunday. There are families, babies, small dogs and a table of people in it to win it with the bottomless mimosas. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend stoping here for breakfast if you are passing though.

    9/13/2020
  • Jessica C.
    5 star rating

    Great food and service. Have been with larger groups of family every time and all of us have loved our experience.

    9/12/2020
  • Kaitlyn C.
    5 star rating

    First time trying Cappy's Cafe after driving past it for years! Glad we finally stopped by and made a reservation. The food and service were amazing. The meat lovers omelette and breakfast sandwich were great. Thank you Cappy's Cafe! We will be back!

    9/12/2020
  • Jennifer S.
    5 star rating

    The service and food was amazing. They did a really good job with the outdoor seating, Even though I am ready for things to normalize. two of us had breakfast which was amazing and two of us had sandwiches which were amazing as well.

    9/09/2020
  • Sara P.
    5 star rating

    Monique is the best server I've ever had! The food was delicious but the service couldn't be beat. You can't go wrong with breakfast at cappys especially if Monique is taking care of you.

    9/07/2020
  • Joe S.
    5 star rating

    We had the Most delicious breakfast and lunch at Cappy's this Labor Day weekend! Great menu selections of large delicious foods and great service from the staff! Nicole our server was great with a nice smile. Dave the owner runs a tight ship at Cappys. Highly recommended

    9/06/2020
  • Veronica A V.
    5 star rating

    I was just visiting Newport and found this place on Yelp. They had great customer service and we were attended to very quickly. Our food was very yummy and decently priced. Also they had a great outdoor area to accommodate the current circumstances. Would definitely go back!

    9/02/2020